Canine & Feline Cancer

Digital Painting is from the Slight Impressions™ Series at the Salon of Art - Click to view Cancer Encouragement Card

I’ve seen much too much cancer in the lives of my beloved pets over the years.  My first two dogs back in the 80’s & 90’s both died from multiple tumors, neither of which showed any signs of feeling sick or showed signs of discomfort, until they nearly collapsed.  I’ve learned a lot about my canine and feline family members since those days, thankfully enough to be able to take better care of my furry companions and understand the early warning signs . . . even before they do.

1 in every 4 dogs die of canine cancer and 32 percent of all cats over 10 years of age will die from some type of cancer.  Though chemotherapy and radiation are often treatments offered by our veterinarians, I’ve never opted for that route.  Personally I can not imagine putting a pet through treatments that are so difficult for we humans to endure.  The best treatment is preventative.  From the time your pet is young, get them used to being rubbed and touched on every inch of their bodies.  I do this every day as our form of hugs, both on my cat and my dog.  This process allows you to feel any swelling, lumps or small sores that may not heal.

This method identified a crusty nipple on my male cat many years ago.  I took him in thinking he’d been chewing on it, only to be given the devastating news that he had Lymphoma with three months to live.  I was not willing to do the traditional treatments, filling his remaining time with the sickness that comes from chemotherapy, so my search for a holistic alternative.  To keep a long story short, I found an old Chinese Herbal Tea that had reduced and/or eliminated Lymphomas in both humans and dogs; with the support of my veterinarian, Budd began taking enjoying tea time four times a day.  He underwent x-rays every month for the first three and with no tumors evident, x-ray checks went to every three months.  The 3-month death sentence Budd was given turned into 2 & 1/2 years of normal happy life for him with each tumor check coming up clean.  Sadly, he went quickly after developing an infection in the nail bed of one of his claws, with his immune system severely compromised, this was enough for his body to give in.  But I had more than two years with my friend and learned from that experience the importance of early detection.

Be diligent from day to day,  know every inch of  your pet’s body, recognize their routines and understand them so well that you NOTICE something is just a little off.   ANYTHING out of the ordinary that lasts more than 72-hours could be your ONLY warning sign!

Greeting Card Universe is the place to find the perfect Paper Greeting Cards for Cancer Patients –  http://www.greetingcarduniverse.com/Occasions-Get+Well+Feel+Better-For+Cancer+Patients  to encourage someone who is dealing with cancer themselves, has a loved one with the disease or to congratulate a cancer survivor!

Here are some examples you’ll find:

Don’t forget to send a card to those Pet Parents who are fighting for their furry friends survival:

This post is part of a Breast Cancer Awareness Month Blog Carnival – Please stop by for links to other blogs offering  information and encouragement on this subject!

6 thoughts on “Canine & Feline Cancer

  1. Thanks, Doreen for these wonderful words of wisdom. I’ve certainly had my share of dealing with cancer patients on a human level, but haven’t experienced it with any of our feline family members. I had no idea that the cancer statistic was so high for cats, but it sure makes me want to pet my kitties even more … although it’s hard to imagine petting them any more than I already do … petting them and hearing that sweet purr is one of my favorite things to do 🙂

    Robin
    P.S. Appreciate you featuring one of my cancer cards!

    • Thanks for stopping by Robin and I’m with you . . . hearing that purr is what I live for. My companion cat passed a couple months ago, as it turns out with a cancerous growth in his abdomen that wasn’t detected early enough due to the hyperthyroidism masking/mimicking the symptoms. His purr was the loudest, most incredible I’ve ever heard and he would turn that purr on as soon as he saw me . . . I miss that every day.
      Hug those kitties even more!

  2. Thanks for helping us to become more aware of pet cancer, Doreen. Having lost our two cats in the past 2 years (though not to cancer), I sympathize with you dearly. Like you, a day doesn’t go by that I don’t miss their sweet purring. 😦 Beautiful cards that you selected.

    Cindy

  3. Pingback: Blog Carnival V: THE BIG C « GCU Community

  4. Love your painting at top, Doreen. It’s beautiful. And enjoyed your post very much. I too missed early signs until it was too late. I will take your advice and hug even more! Great selection of cards 🙂

  5. Doreen, I’m so happy you were able to spend two more years with your furry friend.
    I also love your top painting, it makes a beautiful card as well. Thank you for sharing all this informative information with us.
    This year, one of my parakeet died from a tumor under it’s wing, reading up on it, this is very common in parakeets, and vets would rather not operate on such a small animal, sadly. ( he may have been small, but he had a big personality).
    Wonderful advice, as Sharon Fernleaf commented… Ill take your advice and hug even more!
    Janet Lee

Leave a Reply

